With the completion of week ten, one-fifth of your training year will be in the books. Think about that for a second, 20% of the training will be completed. Hopefully you feel good about where you are at.
As we have now recovered from the highest volume of running from two weeks ago, we want to take a slightly different route than previous years. Instead of now working to increase the intensity, we want to focus on the nice, steady level of intensity that you have had while adding in the the extra credit offerings. In other words, don't increase the intensity at this point. Instead, let your volume go up even a little higher by adding in the extra credit that is offered each week now.
We should be seeing some gains now in general aerobic fitness. Let's be patient, let the volume remain a little high, and continue to build a great foundation of general endurance. During this time, make sure you are stretching some before runs and stretching even longer after runs. Ice anything that is sore. Take an iron supplement and make sure you're hydrating well.
Extra credit offering this week: 3 x 15' + 1 x 30'.
Lastly, I've edited last week's post to include the race distances.
Sunday, August 2, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
38 comments:
47 for the week! Felt pretty good. We've had a lot of rain here in augusta this week so I'm pretty tired of all the humidity but overall a good week. Friends are starting to move away this week for college and although its sad it makes me all the more excited for Tech!
56 for the week. Feeling stronger each week and no sign of injury, so that's making me happy. And I'm taking the iron coach. It's a bit sad the summer's coming to an end, but I'm looking forward to seeing everyone and meeting the new runners in a couple weeks!
Well I got 40 this week. 2 miles short because I had to take a day off due to my reoccurring hip problem. Ran some real solid miles on my tempo. The fartlek was a little challenging since I felt like a cripple. But decent week over all. Hope yall are doing GREAT. Two week count down!
back up to 45 miles this week over 6 days.. i decided to take one day off just to make sure my calf stays in one piece. did my first workouts in about 3 weeks which was a fartlek effort and a 4 mile tempo run, and a 12 mile long run. i've been a little stiff all week, but my soleus is much much better! i can't wait to see everyone in 2 weeks!!
58 this week which was short again. my leg is still kinda bothering me and i'm tryin to do everything i can to get back to 100%. i'm lookin forward to seeing everyone before too long!
48 for the week. got sick missed three days and all my workouts. Feeling better now though.
Went 78 this week, which included a 9 mile scenic run in The Thrill and is three over my target to make up some of the mileage I missed last week. My knee hasn't hurt anymore because I decided to stop bein a little bitch (seriously everyone who says they have injuries should try it, it works). Also, I iced it a lot, but I'm sure it has more to do with the first thing. Had good workouts and a nice 17 miler at the river, half of which was in the pouring rain - nothing better.
holla
I hit my 73 miles for the week. I did a finesse fartlek Monday and a 5 mile tempo Wednesday. The tempo felt great I just decided to back off a little, but I think this week I'll bring it back up to 7 in Canada. I also did 16 in the rain at the river with DJ and Austen. Definitely makes it easier to run in the rain. To top it all off, I got to run through the Thrill with DJ. Oh and for the record... I didn't hear rurnt, or boosh once while I was Rock Hill... Which leads one to believe MK does have her own dictionary.
Hi everyone!!! I ran 47 this week, and my tempo went well. I think it helped me to back off the intensity just a little bit after the high mileage. I finally started feeling the mileage towards the end of the week, so my legs feel pretty tired now. Hope everyone is doing well!!! Enjoy your last 2 weeks of summer :)
Got in 45 last week. Got a good 7 mi fartlek run in on the beach. Also ran a good 5 mi tempo run in about 28:30.
Hi everyone!!! I ran 47 this week, and my tempo went well. I think it helped me to back off the intensity just a little bit after the high mileage. I finally started feeling the mileage towards the end of the week, so my legs feel pretty tired now. Hope everyone is doing well!!! Enjoy your last 2 weeks of summer :)
Sorry that posted twice..no clue why
52 for the week. last week of camp :[ sad to of had to come home. felt exhausted all weekend though from lack of sleep on my part, but still managed to get all my milage in. College is coming up so fast and im getting really excited. Just a few short weeks to go :]]
56 this past week. so glad to be back to 100% of my mileage. I'm a little sick but it's all good. i've been told that running is the perfect cure for a cold...don't know how true that is. haha
60 miles last week. 61 miles this week. I was a little short because I haven't been feeling very good. I think the I'll get back on track the next few weeks because all I have to do is run.
week nine:
86, all singles. didnt feel very good so i pretty much just ran all my miles slow this week, didnt do a tempo. i did do a harder effort on thursday where i ran a hard 2 mile, jogged like 20mins, then helped someone with their last 2 mile repeats. 19 on sat
53 for the week, felt pretty good for the most part..and it was very nice to have joe thomas and deejers for a thrill visit..and joe you're being silly...those are most def. real words..hope everyone enjoys their last few weeks of summer!!!
ran 75 miles last week on 6 days. going to make up the miles i missed last week over the next couple weeks. ran my last workout with ec-a 7 mile tempo at 5:35 pace for a total time of 39:05. and ran 16 at kennesaw saturday.
49 for the week and feeling strong. had a solid 4 mile tempo and an 11 mi long run... looking forward to my last week of work this week and will be in the A before I know it!! Can't wait!!
78 for the week. overall another solid week of training. monday on the fartlek i pushed the hills in piedmont, wednesday did a 5 mile tempo in 28:25, and saturday ran a great 17 miler at the river.
I got 50 in this week. I'm three short because my ankle was still bothering me on Monday. It still feels a little tender, but I can run on it normally with no issues now. Monday's fartlek wasn't so hot because of the aforementioned ankle pain, but Wednesday's tempo was pretty solid. 12 mile long run on Saturday was good...feelin ready for school to start.
56 for the week. Felt good all week with a nice tempo on Wednesday. Can't wait to get down to Tech.
I had another fun week on the bike. I went between 60-90 minutes. I also sprinkled in some ocean activities for bonus cross training.
got in 56 this week. It wasn't a bad week but there wasn't anything special about it either. Unfortunately I think I am getting sick so I might have to ease up on the mileage this week.
last week i was up to 50 and they were mostly late afternoon runs so the heat wasnt an issue. i was able to run my long run with ashley last week so that was great to find somenoe to run with!! her marathon training is going really well for those of you who were wondering! i got in a pretty great tempo run this week already (had to change up my schedule due to traveling) so the weeks off to a good start! see yall soon!
65 miles for the week. felt much better than last week.
37. yup 10 short...kinda having a rough time...not feeling too good. had a good run today tho. just think we'll be in class 2 weeks from today.
Got in a big 31 last week. My foot bothered me on and off but I've been icing it like crazy and have seen some improvement. I had an awesome time at running camp and can't wait for school!
sorry for the no post last week-slipped my mind and by the time I realized it, I was on my way out of town for a camping trip in the great smokey mountians. I got some nice hilly trail running in this last weekend.
95 a week ago and 101 this week with a day off. struggled a little last week with poor weather during the times I could run, but no matter.
I did a couple of finesse fartleks and good, long, quality tempo type runs. long runs of 23 and 22 for the last 2 weeks respectively.
9 more days of work and I'm back in Atlanta to train with everyone!
59 for the week. Enjoyed a great week with PPRC and found that running with more people helps the runs go by a lot quicker than being on your own. The tempo was a little rough for me but did 5 miles at 29:23. I was at a solid 5:45 pace through 4 but just ended up falling off for the last mile. Also had a great 2nd day lifting with Billy Joe and Mike doing a special workout circuit Scott allowed us to do. Hope everyone is as excited as I am to get back to school.
I ran my 42 miles for the week, possibly a couple miles extra. This week went really well and I finally found someone to run with everyday, which makes it so much easier. My fartlwk on Monday was a 5,4,3,2,1 kind of thing and it felt really strong. On wed I did a 28 min tempo run, and Saturday I did the lady distance classic 10k. I ran it kind of like a threshold, and finished in like 44 min. ( not too bad though since the course was very hilly), and I won a jacket, which is always nice. I forgot to post last week, but I ran 44 miles that week. It was a tough week mentally. I'm excited and nervous to come to tech, but I'll see you all next week!
Where and when do you guys meet to run? I will be coming to tech aug 11 for orientation and I'd like to meet the team so if you guys could just let me know that would be great. Thanks!
56 miles last week. I was a couple short. I've been on vacation in Louisiana and Arkansas, where the humidity is stifling (esp LA). So, needless to say, I didn't have a very good week. My long run was 13 miles, but kinda slow. It makes me wish I had been able to go to the river like usual since apparently it rained there. Almost everyday last week was torture, so I'm kinda looking forward to getting back into my usual routine in Atl.
After tomorrow, I'll be back in town till school starts, so if anyone wants to meet to run or go to the river or something with me, I'd be grateful for a running buddy. I like to go early before it gets hot, because I'm a big baby.
(770)335-1621
so last week I had the flu. which was really horrible. only ran 3 days and then spent the rest of the week laying in bed
but this week is off to great start! I did my tempo run today (switching the days up a little) and i ran 4 mile in 25:56 which I was very happy with, I think thats the fastest I've ever run 4 miles
Lauren: I'm going to be around for FASET so give me a call and we can go run!
770-301-8652
61 last week. Did a fartlek with Tim on Monday and then did 3 miles of the tempo with Billy, Greg, and EC, but then my shins were bothering me so I did 10 of the short steep hills at the park. I just got back from Trinidad to see my brother come second in the jr. pan-american games so that was pretty cool. I really did not get a long run in, instead I spread out the mileage of Thursday through Sunday to be pretty much the same.
Hey, sorry for the really late post again. I had 64 miles last week, which is a few more than scheduled, and I was really happy with that. I've been traveling and moving around so much and this is really the first real chance I've had with internet. I left for the airport to go to chicago early last thursday morning, but our flight was delayed 8 hours because the radar broke on the plane, and then the part they needed to fly in to fix it also broke. Luckily the second part they flew in worked so we got out of there. But I wasn't able to run until we got to our hotel downtown around 10pm. Either way, I got up the next morning and had probably my most favorite long run ever, a 17 miler through downtown chicago, going from the sears tower down wacker (hey-o) drive to michigan avenue, by navy pier, and down Clark avenue to Wrigley Field and back. It was wonderful romping around my hometown again, and a whole lot less humid. One guy called me out at a stoplight around mile 16 and said he saw me running when he went to get coffee, and now he was getting lunch and here I was still running. I told him perhaps he had too many breaks at his job. He laughed, because I'm funny.
I then went to an wedding in Sandwich, Illinois (yes, it's a small town) for a couple days, and then back to chicago for another couple days. I had a lot of fun seeing the city for the first time in awhile, and was able to get my runs in. The only negative with all this travel is that I haven't really been living like a clock like I was, and have been a bit more tired from walking around the airports and city. But I still had a great week.
I got back from Chicago late Monday night and actually left for Isle of Palms, SC yesterday. So, Eric, I don't know if you're in Wando, but- my brother and I will be running tomorrow at some point, most likely in the morning, if you want someone to run with, give me a call at 847-722-3640.
I'm thinking this post is probably a long one, even for me, so all you need to know is that I had a great week even with my traveling, and I'm looking to continue that this week, along with getting back to living like a clock on Friday. I can't wait for PPRC to be back in full force soon, also, when Joe is back from Canada on Sunday. Hope everyone keeps working hard and stays/gets healthy. Until next week.
Hey guys, I'm not going to make a marathon post like Mike, but basically I was in the same situation..except my flights were 6 hours apart each..and in total I spent 35 hours traveling, least to say I couldn't get in quite all of my mileage. Did my best though and got 41 out of 47 miles in. I did however lift a lot of heavy bags, which could act as supplementation to not running one day? OK maybe not-- but now I'm back home after a superb time, and I'm going to do my best to "live like a clock" after I get over my jet lag.
Saturday had a nice long run through the MOUNTAINS...and oddly enough there never seemed to be a downhill, so I guess you could say I was pretty beat from that. Ohh, also did some beach running on Wednesday and Thursday. Well, kind of-- rock beaches make it hard to run ON the beach, so I ran on the grass beside the rocks ha. But thats all the updates I have. So far, injury free!
See ya'll soon. Yes I say ya'll..in NY.
On a side note, today I brought something over to the neighbors house and had a 5 minute conversation (pretty lengthy). Couple hours later I went running by his house and the same neighbor asked if I had recently arrived home because he hadn't seen me running in awhile.
Apparently I have a memorable personality..good to know.
ok, so this was as long as Mike's afterall..
sorry for not recording my milage for the past three weeks, they are as follows:
13 July- 54
20 July- 49
27 July- 53
I was not able to achievethe 55 miles i was supposed to because of all the traveling i had been doing during that week. Besides that everything has gone fine.
Post a Comment